Guidance

How to back up and delete your Facebook account

Facebook make it a little tricky to remove your personal data from their social network, instead prompting users to disable their account. This keeps all your stuff online, so you can sign back in and reactivate your account instantly.

But that's not always what you want – particularly if you want to become undiscoverable, or remove yourself from friends lists, groups and invites. 

That’s why we’ve put together this guide to completely removing your profile from Facebook – while making sure you’ve got a backup of your conversations, photos and more. 

 

Step one: backing up your Facebook account

The first step towards deleting your account is making sure you're not going to lose anything important!

Helpfully, Facebook have provided a way to download a backup your posts, photos, messages and more, so you won't have to worry about losing wedding photos or your favourite conversations.

Just follow the instructions below to find out how – but bear in mind, this can only be done through an internet browser, and not through the Facebook app for smartphones.

 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook one

1.

Open your web browser and go to www.facebook.com.

2.

If prompted, sign in with your current Facebook details.

3.

Click on the question mark (?) button in the top-right corner of the page.

4.

Choose Settings from the drop-down menu.

 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook two

5.

At the bottom of the General Account Settings page, click the link for Download a copy of your Facebook data.

 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook three

6.

You will now see a description of what’s included with your Facebook backup. Read through the list to find out what's being saved, then click Start My Archive to continue the backup process.

 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook four

7.

Enter your Facebook password to confirm your identity, then click Submit.

 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook five

8.

You’ll now be warned that this process can take a while to finish. Click Start My Archive again. You’ll be emailed by Facebook once the archive is ready to download.

Step two: deleting your Facebook account

Generally, Facebook prefers you to ‘deactivate’, rather than delete, your account. This is about as effective as simply not signing into Facebook any more – which has left a few people confused about why their 'deactivated' account is still visible to their friends.

Fortunately, there's a somewhat hidden option to totally delete your account, and unless you sign back in within 14 days, all your Facebook data will be removed. This can take anywhere between 30 to 90 days – but once it's gone, it's gone!

You won't find this feature in the Facebook app on your smartphone, so you'll have to use an internet browser instead. Open your browser and follow the steps below to wipe your Facebook profile.

 

 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook six
 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook seven
 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook eight
 
 
 
 
Delete Facebook nine
1.

Open up an internet browser, either on your phone or a computer.

2.

In the address bar (or search box), type in www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and press Enter.

3.

You will be asked to sign into Facebook, or to confirm your password if you’re already signed in. Make sure your details are correct, and that your account is signed in, before you continue.

4.

After signing in, you'll be taken to a new webpage which will confirm your account is being deleted. 

If you change your mind and want your account back, you have up to 14 days to sign back into Facebook and interrupt the process. After this time, your data is lost – and you'll have to create a whole new account to use Facebook again.

You might also like

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Latest articles

 
 
 
 
Not Available
 
 
 
 
Not Available Not Available

{{::result.tkh_title}}

{{::result.tkh_title}}

{{::result.tkh_replicatedDate}}