Cloud Storage by Team Knowhow - FAQ

1. How do I change which folders are backed up?

squiggle

To change which folders you back up, just follow the steps below:

1.

Open Cloud Storage.

2.

Click the Settings tab.

3.

Choose Backup Selection.

4.

All of the folders that are to be backed up are highlighted green. To add another, press Add another folder…

5.

Find the folder you want to add and click Add.

To remove a folder, just untick the box next to the folder’s name. The next time you back-up, any folders you’ve unticked will be deleted from the Cloud.

2. When does Cloud Storage back-up my files?

squiggle

Cloud Storage works in the background and checks for new updates every hour. If it finds any new or changed documents, it backs them up.

You can change how often it backs up by opening Settings > Backup Selection > Manage Schedule. Choose how often you want Cloud Storage to backup and press Apply.

3. Can I back-up my emails?

squiggle

You can only use Cloud Storage to backup emails that are stored on your computer, so it only works with desktop-based email clients like Outlook or Exchange.

Accounts like Hotmail and Gmail automatically save your emails online, so you don’t need to worry about losing those.

Somewhere on your computer will be a file that your emails are saved in. You just need to make sure it’s selected for backup and all of your emails will be saved.

4. Why is my backup taking so long?

squiggle

Backing up your PC, particularly for the first time, can take quite a long time. It depends on how big the file sizes are, how big the files are, and how fast your internet speed is.

Once your first backup is finished, backing up individual folders or files won’t take long.

5. What happens when I delete a file from my computer?

squiggle

If you delete a file from your computer, it’s also deleted from Cloud Storage.

However, if you want to recover something you’ve accidently deleted, you have 30 days to get it back. To recover files, follow the steps below.

 

1.

Open Cloud Storage.

2.

Click the Restore tab.

3.

Find the file you deleted.

4.

Click Restore in the ‘Action’ column.

5.

Choose where you want to save it to and press Restore.

To save files in the Cloud but permanently remove them from your computer, more the files you want to keep into your Online Drive.

6. Can I edit files in Cloud Storage without affecting the original?

squiggle

Cloud Backup makes copies of files stored on your PC, so if you edit anything in the Cloud, it’ll be replaced by the original the next time you back-up.

But, you can keep them separate by moving the file you want to edit into the Online Drive. Once there, it won’t be replaced when you run an upload.

7. Why do some of my files have a grey cloud next to them?

squiggle

Files with a grey cloud next to them are waiting to be uploaded. Cloud Storage knows they’re there, you just need to wait for them to finish uploading.

8. Why would I need to restore my files?

squiggle

There are a few reasons why you might need to restore a file from the Cloud to your computer:

  • A file has been accidentally deleted or saved over
  • You've got a new computer and want access to your files
  • You've installed a new storage drive to your PC

9. How do I restore a file or folder?

squiggle

To restore a file or folder, just follow these steps:

 

1.

Open the control centre.

2.

Click the Restore tab.

3.

Choose the device you want to restore from.

4.

Navigate to the folder or file you want to restore.

5.

Click Restore.  

6.

Choose the version of the file you want to use.

7.

Click the location you want to restore the file to.

10. How do I restore all of the files from a device?

squiggle

Follow these steps to restore all of the files from a device at once:

 

1.

Open the Control Centre and click the Restore tab.

2.

Select all of the folders that you want to restore.

3.

Click Restore.

4.

Choose the location you want to restore to. It can be an existing folder or a new one.

11. Does Cloud Storage protect my files against viruses?

squiggle

Cloud Storage from Team Knowhow isn’t a substitute for anti-virus software. But, if your computer gets a virus and needs to be restored to factory settings, you won’t lose all of your photos, documents, and files.

12. What can I do if my computer's infected by ransomware?

squiggle

If your computer is infected by ransomware, you need to close Knowhow Cloud as soon as possible to stop any infected files from being backed up.

To do this, right-click on the Cloud Storage icon on task/Start bar and select Exit Cloud Storage.

You can then reset your PC or remove the virus and recover any lost files from the Cloud.

If you want to speak to us about removing viruses or resetting your PC, you can contact us here.

13. What is a custom restore and when would I need one?

squiggle

A custom restore is only required in rare circumstances, for example, if you want to recover all of the files from a specific date & time.

Additional charges may apply for this – please call 0800 012 1909 for more details. 

14. How do I change my personal details?

squiggle

All of your account information and personal details can be changed on our website.

2.

Login with your Cloud account details.

3.

Press  Account Your Details .

15. When will the next payment be taken?

squiggle

You can find out when your account is up for renewal on the Team Knowhow website.

You can also see the date that your bank account will be charged in order for your subscription to continue.

2.

Log in using the same details you use to get into the app.

3.

Select Account Your Details.

16. How do I change my payment method or get a receipt?

squiggle

All of your payment details can be found in the ‘Account’ section of the Team Knowhow website.

2.

Press Account.

3.

Select Billing & Invoices.

Here, you can see the bank account that future payments will be taken from, and print out a receipt/invoice.

17. How do I stop automatic renewal?

squiggle

Automatic renewal can’t be turned off. We do this to stop you from forgetting to renew your account and accidently losing all of the files you’ve backed up.

This is outlined in the terms of use for Team Knowhow Cloud.

The only way to stop automatic renewal is to close your account. You can do that by contacting us here.

18. Why was my card declined?

squiggle

We only accept payment for Cloud Storage from Visa or MasterCard, and any other card types get auto-declined.

If a Visa or MasterCard payment fails, we won't be able to find out why, and we'd advise speaking to your bank.

19. How do I change my Cloud package?

squiggle

If you're running out of space, you can easily upgrade your account to one with more storage. However, you can't currently downgrade to one with less.

Upgrade

squiggle

To upgrade to a package with more storage, log into your account and click on Account, followed by Change plan.

If you just want to back-up from another computer, add a NAS drive, or need more Briefcase space, you can do it in the ‘Add ons’ section of the Team Knowhow Cloud website.

Downgrade

squiggle

Currently, you can’t downgrade to an account with less storage.

The only thing you can do is cancel your account and take out a new one. However, everything you’ve backed up will be permanently deleted. If you do this, make sure everything you want to keep is backed up somewhere else.

To cancel your account or get more info, get in touch with us here.

20. How do I cancel my account?

squiggle

To close your account, you need to speak to us on the phone.

You can find our phone number here.

If you close your account, everything saved to the Cloud will be permanently deleted. So before you do, make sure you’ve backed it all up somewhere else.

You can return to the Cloud Storage Support page here.

If you can't find the answer to your question, you can get in touch with an expert from Team Knowhow here.

 
 
 
 
Not Available
 
 
 
 
Not Available Not Available

{{::result.tkh_title}}

{{::result.tkh_title}}

{{::result.tkh_replicatedDate}}